What to Know About Car Accident Laws in Colorado
Colorado is a fault-based car accident jurisdiction. Under the state’s comparative negligence statute (C.R.S. § 13-21-111), each party to an accident is responsible for their proportional “share” of the blame. For example, if one driver is found 75 percent at-fault for an accident, they are liable for 75 percent of the total damages.
As fault is so important to determine liability, it is essential that your auto accident is investigated right away. Our Aspen car accident attorneys will help you secure all of the evidence you need to prove fault. Notably, you have a limited amount of time to bring a claim. The Colorado statute of limitations for car accident injury lawsuits is three years from the date of the collision.